No Rest for the Wicked.

It may be a holiday week, but with how my workouts have progressed; I do not want to slow down. My biggest fear is having doubts. I don’t ever want to feel like I didn’t prepare enough. I didn’t run enough, I didn’t spend enough time in the ring, I didn’t lift and condition my body to what level I am supposed to be at. I want to feel 110% confident stepping into the ring come August when I first get to spar with my opponent. So this week is all about preparation. I have my first Fitness Test {out of four} that I will need to pass next week so that is also keeping me on track to hit goals and keep moving.

Vermont is the perfect place to train. Rolling hills {or mountains} are abundant. Uphill sprints and a 2 mile run through my hometown was enough to get me started.

IMG_5214IMG_5212Running these hills is different than any incline on a treadmill. My arms pumping and moving me was literally an uphill battle. As soon as I got to the top of the hill {exhausted as all hell} I reached a point where the only thing that was keeping me going was my mental strength and clarity. I dug down and pushed as hard as I could knowing I had little less than a mile back to my car. As I saw my car creeping up in the distance the heavens broke open and it was a complete downpour. It may sound cheesy but in that moment, I felt like I was where I needed to be. Sometimes stepping away from the chaos in my life and experiencing this competitive nature in myself is what drives me and moves me forward to become a better athlete. When I am determined, there is no stopping me. It may be because of my stubborn nature {thanks, Dad} or because I have the will to want to do everything to the best of my ability {thanks, OCD/perfectionism}.


I am extremely lucky that I have an amazing network of coaches and trainers even back home in Vermont. I trained here in my sophomore summer when I wanted to come back to Quinnipiac as a stronger ice hockey player. Playing Division 1 hockey was a real wake-up call for me. Sports were my life. I couldn’t imagine not playing. I decided to walk on to a Division 1 ECAC ice hockey program and I am glad I did. It taught me to be humble. I wasn’t the best player on the team, but I worked my butt off every. single. day.

Erin Sykes was an incredibly motivating and inspiring trainer for me. She pushed me and worked with me to push past what goals were set for the rest of the team. She wanted me to be the best. She encouraged me to want that for myself. She is also an incredible human being and an amazing mother to Acadia.

Well, she pushed me again to be better than I was before I saw her. It was an outdoor workout – everything with tires. Each size tire was like my extra appendage. I was black from lifting, pushing, and working with each set of tires around the back parking lot of the fitness center.

 IMG_5220 IMG_5223

So I may not be in the ring this week, but don’t count me out. There is no rest for the wicked …and I am just getting started.

||See you in the ring||

AK47

One thought on “No Rest for the Wicked.

Leave a comment